Topic 5 : Reflective Summary

OPEN ACCESS? YES? NO?

As students, we often grab the information we want from the web, but it did not occur to me the backstory of open access before. Convenience was brought to us thanks to content producer making their work open access to us. We should give credit to those producers behind these information. 🙂

Before I head on to summarise my reflective journey on topic 5, here’s a heads up 🙂

On my blog, I weighed the pros and cons of open access but did not make a stand to which does open access really benefit both users and producers. My classmates have enriched my understanding of open access with various opinions and views. With this, strengthening my belief that open access is the way to go.

rroll.jpg[Source: Google]

XinHui and Renee mentioned how Youtubers are able to earn money through uploading free videos. Content producers like Youtubers make use of YouTube as a free platform to showcase their talent, passion and useful information that we ourselves might not have heard of. Youtubers are also able to pave their career path through uploading videos! Isn’t it a win-win situation? 🙂

yt_18184418_e016dc0c66592014cb2d1fa81892f1f8ae1663e5[ Source : image by me ]

YongYou brought up how open access can Strengthens the basis for transfer (education), development (research) and valorization of knowledge. This is a significant point because 94% of students rely on internet to get information for their research project.At such, open access opens up much more learning opportunities not only to researcher or educators, but to students as well.

In addition,  Xin Lin also state that Experiment connect researchers/ CPs with those who are keen to contribute to fund the research project. With this, issues on high cost incurred can be minimized. bal_18184418_7113ec94ae193563eef8c2123ed58de48a1cc2c2.png[source: image by me]

With that, I now strongly affirmed that open access brings about more advantages than disadvantages. Allow content to be shared freely across the globe ensure substantial improvement for everyone and value adds to the society. 🙂

[298 Words]

Blogs I have commented : XinHui & Renee 😀

 


Leave a comment