TOPIC 2 : REFLECTIVE SUMMARY

Is having more than 1 online identities good or bad???

It did not occur to me that having multiple online identities would affect me in one way or another. To me, social media was just platforms that I use to share stories about myself and my life.

After visiting XinLin’s blog, I then realised that unknowingly we have created various online identities for ourselves. For example, one can people tend to post happy pictures or events on their Instagram but rant about all the unhappy things on twitter. This shows two side of a person and it is not necessarily a bad thing. We use various identities to express ourselves and to portray how we want others to see us.

From Xinhui’s blog, the issue of sex-for credit was raised and I thought it was rather important that this issue is surfaced. Multiple online identities may also trigger mental breakdown of creator. Hence, having multiple identities not only create risks for users, it also posses risks for creators.

I visited various other classmates blogs as well and found out that even though one tries to portray both personal and professional image of different platforms, when an username is searched on Google, Google does not help to filter out what content is profession and which is personal. Hence, online identities must be managed carefully.

In sum, having multiple online identities posses both pros and cons. However, if one manages the various identities well and mind the words used, it should not be much of an issue. (:

Blogs I have commented on:

XinHui’s Blog: https://xinhuiuosms.wordpress.com/2016/11/08/topic-2-who-are-you-in-the-virtual-world/comment-page-1/#comment-12

XinLin’s Blog: https://chaitama.wordpress.com/2016/11/07/multiple-identities-why-not/comment-page-1/#comment-2


One thought on “TOPIC 2 : REFLECTIVE SUMMARY

Leave a comment